Albert de la Fuente

FOUR PIECES, for string orchestra, Op.15

See the full score
About this work

This opus contains four miniatures in contrasting moods. However, there are two common threads thoughout: a hommage to the jazz era, and abundant doses of humor.

The first movement opens with a prelude-like section that acts as a slow introduction to a fast-paced fugue. Unlike typical Baroque models, both the prelude and the fugue are based on the same musical idea, albeit presented in very contrasting moods.

The second movement is a surreal scherzo with lots of syncopation. The central episode is a parody of the Swing Era big band sound.

The third movement is based on an early Emily Dickinson poem, “Love, thou Art High”. In this slow movement a languid theme build on ambiguous harmonies alternates twice with a bluesy episode with lots of ornamentation.

The last movement is a lively 7-part rondo with a short introduction, driving the whole suite to an exhilarating close.

Total duration: ca. 15′ 40″.

Each movement may also be performed separately.