Albert de la Fuente


See the score here
About this work

This work is a hommage to Nikolai Kapustin (1937-2020).

The first movement, in sonata form, is assertive and rhythmic, and is a kapustinian blend of classical architecture with jazz inflections.

The second movement, an elegy, is in some sort of developing variation, where a basic melodic cell (extracted from the first movement) is used to build two interrelated themes arranged in A-B-A’ fashion.

The third movement is a rondo in 7/8. The central episode features a cyclical return of the main theme of the first movement, albeit in a totally different character. After recapitulating the other themes of the rondo, the whole work is rounded off by a exhilarating coda.

Total duration: ca. 23′ 30″